2009, 2010

picture shelf

At my parents’ house, yesterday, I looked through their big stack of Christmas cards.  The ones I am most interested in are the ones with long messages that reflect on the past year.  I know those get a lot of flack, sometimes.  But, what can I say?  I am a reader.

It seems 2009 was a tough year for a lot of us, full of highs and lows, scraped knees, stress, sadness, and sweet surprises. My year kind of was, too.  It began with Reed, though we didn’t know it at the time.  He was just a little secret hidden away inside my belly.  And then there was joy and morning sickness.  There was the death of a grandfather.  There was the roller coaster of house shopping.  There was the fun of watching my belly grow.  There were the small pleasures: strawberries, the outdoor movie theater, Door County, the Farmer’s Market.  There was the job change, the big move.    Then there was the birth of my son, one of the biggest, most exhilirating moments of my life.

2009 had a lot to it.  But I think 2010 will be slower and sweeter.  I think it will be wonderful.

Leave a Reply

