interview with gene wilder: talk of the nation

Listen to the rest of the interview here.

Mr. WILDER:  I like writing now much more than I do acting only because well, partly because the scripts that are offered are junk.

I don’t say all of them, but the ones that are offered to me, I say I don’t want to do that, explosives and special effects and $200-million budgets and things like that. And so I’d rather, unless something else comes along that’s wonderful, I’d rather write at home with my wife, Karen, and go into my study after breakfast and write for maybe an hour and a half, two hours, come out, get a cup of tea, go back in, write a little more, come out, have a little lunch, give my wife a kiss, go back in. And maybe at 4:00, 4:30, I stop writing, and I say that’s enough for today. It’s very comforting.

CONAN: That does sound like a nice day.

Mr. WILDER: Well, it is a nice day. You should see my wife. You’d think it’s even nicer.

3 thoughts on “interview with gene wilder: talk of the nation

Leave a Reply

