number 16

after oatmeal
(completely random picture from last fall of oatmeal)

I’ve decided that I would like to post the new recipes I am trying.

This week’s recipe is baked oatmeal from Nourished Kitchen.

We eat a good deal of oatmeal here at the Whitlock house, especially Reed and I.  But we had only ever eaten oatmeal as…you know…plain old oatmeal.  I was intrigued by this recipe, which calls for soaking steel cut oats and walnuts overnight in a bath of water and yogurt before being baked in a custard batter.  I was amazed at what a difference the soak made.  The textures and flavors of the oats were so different!  I loved it.  I was also impressed by the mildness of the walnuts.  The overnight bath takes out a lot of the bitterness and astringency.  Adam even liked them (or at least found them palatable).  It really makes me want to incorporate more soaked grains into my diet!

This will definitely be a regular breakfast dish, here.  Next time, I think I will make it extra thick with dried cherries.  And I’ll serve it with cream (or maybe creme fraiche?) and maple syrup.

You should definitely give this recipe a try.  It is cheap, an easy way to feed a crowd, and it was such a pleasure to make!

Baked Oatmeal adapted from Nourished Kitchen
serves 4 generously

1/2 lb steel cut oats
1/2 c walnuts
1 T yogurt, kefir, or buttermilk
a dash of salt
3 eggs
1c milk
a couple tablespoons of maple syrup (optional)
1/2 c dried fruit (think apricots, raisins, cherries, or cranberries) (also optional)
1 T cinnamon
a small knob of good butter (a tablespoon or two) broken into little chunks

The night before, put the oats and nuts in a large bowl. Cover in water, and add the yogurt/kefir/buttermilk and salt. The next morning, drain the water off the oat/nut mixture and return it to the bowl. Preheat your oven to 375 and grease a baking dish with butter. Beat together the eggs, milk, and maple syrup. Combine this with the oats and nuts, then stir in the dried fruit, cinnamon, and butter. Bake it in the greased dish until it is done, which will probably be 30-40 minutes. Wait a good 15 minutes before slicing and serving it.

2 thoughts on “number 16

  1. Here in the Espedal home we soak ALL grains, beans, and nuts. I always thought this was somewhat of a bother until we made hummus from soaked chick peas and the taste wasn’t even comparable to using beans from the can. So delicious!

    I’ll have to try this one!

  2. I’ve soaked beans a number of times, but never grains or nuts! I love it! Do you always soak with a bit of something like yogurt/kefir/etc in your water, or do you usually just soak in water?

Leave a Reply

