birthday

messy birthday cake and my cake-hero

Wednesday was my birthday, and I could do anything I wanted.  So I thought about it and thought about it.  But I couldn’t think of anything I wanted more than to do what I always do on a Wednesday.

We had the same breakfast we always do (some combination of oatmeal, eggs, toast, yogurt and granola).  We ate a normal lunch at home.  I did dishes and a bit of sewing.  I washed clothes and hung them to dry.  I took a walk with Reed and stayed up too late reading.  I sat and drank tea and watched sun pour through the windows.  I smiled at Adam.  It was a normal day.  It was the day I have again and again. Nothing is sweeter.  And I spent all day smiling.

In the end, I think it was the best birthday I’ve ever had.  I can’t think of a better gift than realizing that the day I want most is the day I have again and again.  A day with eggs and work and affection and rest and play.  What richness that is.

Thank you,

Lindsey

3 thoughts on “birthday

  1. I love this post. I wish your birthday had come before mine, so I wouldn’t have spent so much energy being a big,whining, selfish baby on my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

