mystery melon: before

Paternity leave eventually ends, and we find our ways back into our ways- old and new.  But I am ready.  This morning Helen napped in her wrap while Reed and I strolled down to the banks.  He likes throwing sticks in the river more than almost anything, but he still takes time to sit someplace nice and watch the water.  And I still love that about him.  Maybe next year I will teach him Poohsticks.

Now the boy is upstairs napping and our girl has woken.  I look forward to some moments of quiet alone with her before the afternoon passes into evening, which seems to happen earlier and earlier these September days.  I look forward to watching her unfurl.

I don’t know if it is a part of the world’s construction or if I just spent too many years in school, but some Septembers feel like the beginning of everything.

Leave a Reply

