i don’t listen to quotes from kids with terminal illnesses

“i don’t listen to quotes from kids with terminal illnesses”

Last week, I said this to Ben and Bri and Adam, and we all laughed (probably because I’m a nice girl, and nice girls don’t say negative things about dying children). I meant it. The kid is probably wonderful and brave, but I bet that I’d have quite a lot more to learn from a parent that has to live on in this world after losing their child. I bet I’d have quite a lot more to learn from most people. For me, living well in this world is more difficult than finding peace in leaving it.

But that isn’t really what this is about.

A couple nights ago, Adam and I went on a spontaneous double date with the wonderful Ben and Bri. We watched the sun set over the lake and ate some yummy yummy sushi and fried ice cream (the real stuff) and walked along State Street. My comment on terminal illnesses was brought up and laughed over a bit, and then we got talking. what we would do if we had terminal illnesses? If you want to know how Ben, Bri, and Adam answered, I’d suggest that you ask them. I smoothly averted answering the question, but thought about it the rest of the night. And the next day.

And I discovered something really amazing. If I had a terminal illness, I wouldn’t change a thing. I would live just like I’m living this summer: working a little, writing, praying, and sitting with people in the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

