a day out after a day in

Winter marsh

Christmas Eve- my favorite day- I came down with a 12-hour stomach flu.

Things don’t always go the way you want.

But the day after Christmas, we got out for a hike. Adam was home, the air was unseasonably warm, and we could walk and walk and walk as far as little legs and sleepy bodies could carry.

Boxing day hike

In Norway, or the part I know of it, the day after Christmas is spent cross-country skiing. I always wanted to take that for my own. I am an outdoor girl at heart, and a day out after a day in is always a welcome thing.

Most years something else has come up. But not this year.

Sometimes things work out just the way you wanted. Your love comes home. The weather is fine. You get a day out after a day in and perfume in your stocking and order a pizza.

The cold is coming. I was so dreading the cold coming, but now it’s nearly here and I don’t mind.

3 thoughts on “a day out after a day in

  1. Mmm…I love the idea of x-country skiing (or hiking) the day after Christmas. We had beautiful weather and got out a lot over the post-Christmas weekend, wandering in our woods and fields, and now the cold is setting in and we’ll be ice-skating soon.

  2. We were so sad to hear you were sick for Christmas, Lindsey. 😦 The family hike sounded like the perfect activity to restore your body and spirit, however! I’ve been thinking about cross-country skiing lately. We used to go when our kids were little. I’ve done it once since then about 7 years ago and realised how much I missed it.

Leave a Reply

