this week

kitchen window

This week I flew across the country. I walked to the market, drove to the mountains, ate an orange off a tree. This week I slept on the floor, slept on my bed, slept on my yoga mat outside in the sun.

This week I figured out where to buy fruit and where to buy rice. I peered into Halal markets and wondered about countless restaurants with intriguing names and foreign lettering.

my shadow

I lived out of a suitcase, fielded calls from a moving truck, unpacked boxes (not all of them). I contemplated curtain fabric, watched Reed play his first game of chess, I drank good coffee.

I drank wine. I met neighbors. I bought a rug.

This week I went barefoot and barelegged as much as possible. I drank bubble tea and went to the mall and sat by our fireplace.

That was this week. It was a good one.

One thought on “this week

Leave a Reply

