on non-essentials

laundry day

There have been house guests and birthdays. Day trips, naps, tennis lessons, bubble teas, early morning writing, afternoon backyard yoga, Thursday laundry, Thursday cleaning, Saturday date nights in.

And in the evenings and for solid slice of the weekend, it is school.

As a whole, I have enjoyed school, liked having time set aside as my own to think about things I might not otherwise think about (practical things, mathematical things). But this semester, I am over it. There are six beautiful meyer lemons sitting in a bowl on the table waiting to be turned into lemon curd, but I haven’t gotten around to it. There is time in our day for cooking good meals, and I am grateful for that, but what about the lemon curd?

I want to spend my evenings with a scotch in the kitchen replicating those little Persian rice flour rosewater cookies. I want to put plants in pots or learn to dance or any other number of lively and completely unessential things that don’t involve sitting down and staring at a screen.

Adam said the other day that I only sweat the small stuff, and for the most part that is true. I want to stir a pot of lemon curd at night, and see the golden jar in my refrigerator in the morning. That’s what I want my days to be like. That’s what I am looking forward to.

One thought on “on non-essentials

Leave a Reply

