on what (actually) I hate about being a parent

Studying over lunch
I have a theory (I always have a theory): the things we hate about parenting are the things we hate about life.

I might say I hate this or I hate that in this world (injustice! suffering!), but when it comes to raising my kids, what do I really hate?

All the f@$%ing doctor’s appointments.

Optometrists. Dentists. Filling out the forms and getting together all the documents and putting them in a folder, and then going down to enroll in school and finding out there is a new form and going back home and filling it out and going back again.

It’s stupid stuff to hate. But I do. And the more I think about it, it’s those things- those mundane obligations- that I really just can’t stand about life, either. At least right now.

Parenthood is so definitely not for everyone. But it has a habit of magnifying life, making the whole world so small you can see it in your own house if you keep your eyes open.

I mostly don’t. But maybe I’ll try again tomorrow.

One thought on “on what (actually) I hate about being a parent

  1. Good observation. And I’d have to agree–filling out forms in triplicate is the worst (having three kids in school really emphasizes how duplicative all of their paperwork is!!).

Leave a Reply

