lizards everywhere

We found a lizard in Margot’s room, and now I see lizards everywhere. I always forget to shut the door.

I don’t notice the alligator lizards until they are right in front of me. Earlier this week, I did yoga outside and found myself nose to nose with one. He looked at me, and I looked at him. And then all at once, he slipped away. I couldn’t hear a thing.

In the house, they aren’t so quiet. After he escaped into the living room, I opened the back door, hid in the kitchen, and heard the trip trap of lizard feet on the wood floor. I think the lizard found his way home.

(But still, I nearly spill my coffee when I see the tassel of a rug in the shape of a tail.)

Leave a Reply

