the start of the school year

Around and around. It’s good to be at the beginning, again. I’m glad the earth goes around the sun and not in a straight line. I’m glad it doesn’t wobble, but tips on as it always does. And I’m glad that I am in the same place as I was last year, here to see another first day of school, here to see the pomegranates ripening again and the, in a couple months, the persimmons.

Reed started kindergarten last year, and now it’s Helen’s turn. I was at the kindergarten gate, again, and again the people around me were strangers, and all the kids but mine blurred together. Soon they won’t. Soon I will know if their parents drink coffee and what they like to eat. In time.

Let new things be new. I haven’t been around long enough to know a lot of things, but I know that.

Leave a Reply

